Football

AFTER ARGENTINA’S 1-0 WIN OVER PERU, MESSI ATTACK THE REFEREE, SAYING ‘HE’S DOING IT ON PURPOSE’

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Lionel Messi heads to Wilton Sampaio after Argentina’s 1-0 win over Peru in a World Cup qualifier. The PSG legend claims that the Brazilian match official made six “deliberate” decisions. The Ballon d’Or winner endured all night as he struggled to make an impact, and the 34-year-old suggested that test conditions and callers plotted against him.

WHAT DOES IT MEAN?

Messi wrote on Instagram: “It’s a tough game, hard to play. A lot of the wind, they were playing deep, leaving us little space.

“THE REFEREE ALWAYS DOES THIS WHEN HE REMEMBERS US, JUST AS HE DID IT ON PURPOSE. BUT WELL, TWO POINTS ARE IMPORTANT AND WE ARE CLOSE TO OUR GOAL.”

WHY IS MESSI CONCERNED?

Argentina worked hard for a long time against Peru and they were lucky to leave with high scores after seeing the club’s management awarded a second-half penalty.

That may have been Messi’s outrageous decision, but he and his international team-mates were released when Yoshimar Yotun blocked a cross from the cart.

IS SAMPAIO SHOWED BY ARGENTINA BEFORE?

The merger between Argentina and Peru was the fifth such event under Sampaio.

Messi is clearly not a fan, but Albicelesteans are not beaten if the Brazilian is a man in the middle.

Their first exit under Sampaio also hit Peru in a World Cup qualifier in October 2017, with that match ending 0-0. The group stage match against Paraguay in the 2019 Copa America ended 1-1 before Argentina won the practice.

Other Copa America and Uruguay tournaments saw Guido Rodriguez netting a decisive goal, while Ecuador was beaten 3-0 in the same tournament.

REASONS TO BE HAPPY

Coach Lionel Scaloni is the second Albiceleste coach to oversee such a long losing race, behind Alfio Basile. He said:

“PLAYING THREE GAMES IN SOUTH AFRICA IN TROUBLE, BUT WE WENT AHEAD AND GOT ​​THREE POINTS, THAT’S WHAT WE WANTED.”

Write A Comment