Leicester City won the FA Cup for the first time ever. After losing in the final four previous times, the last time in 1969, it was fifth time lucky for the team as a Youri Tielemans strike gave them victory against Chelsea.

The first half of this final was dull, with neither team making a single shot on target. Then, in the 63rd minute, Tielemans stunned Kepa with a long-range strike past the keeper.

The final minutes were tense for the fans and Kasper Schmeichel had to make excellent saves from Ben Chilwell and Mason Mount.

Then, Chelsea is awarded a penalty after Chilwell agitated the Chelsea penalty area, provoking an own goal by Wes Morgan. However, the goal was ruled out by VAR as Chilwell was in a position that was offside.

This allowed Brendan Rodgers’ players to secure a 1-0 win, lifting another trophy five years after their historic Premier League title.

Comments are closed.