Cristiano Ronaldo has won the Euro 2020 Golden Boot after scoring five goals in four matches. The Portugal forward scored three of his goals from the penalty spot, while the other two came from open play against Hungary and Germany. No one on England or Italy duty managed to surpass his tally in the final on Sunday.


After Ronaldo and Schick at five goals apiece, four players finished on four goals: Harry Kane, Karim Benzema, Emil Forsberg, and Romelu Lukaku.

Ronaldo played in only four games – 360 minutes – at Euro 2020, compared to the likes of final participants Kane and Raheem Sterling, who each played over 600 minutes.

PositionPlayerMinutes playedGoalsAssists
1.Cristiano Ronaldo (POR)36051
2Patrik Schick (CZE)40450
3.Karim Benzema (FRA)34940
4.Emil Forsberg (SWE)37140
5.Romelu Lukaku (BEL)44440

This is Ronaldo’s first Golden Boot honor, as he came in second place in 2016 when Portugal won the competition.


While Ronaldo was the Golden Boot winner among players, there were a record 11 own goals scored at Euro 2020.

Before this summer, the high mark had been only three own goals in an entire Euro tournament, which happened in 2016.

Comments are closed.